I’m Back

So we finally finished the move.  Well, finished may be to strong a word.  We still have boxes that need to be unpacked, but they are mostly books and music.  Sorry I didn’t post anything last week, but I was still overwhelmed by all the work I had to do.

This place was such a mess.  The people who lived here before were filthy.  I thought I knew what that word meant, but now I know I had no idea.  I don’t think they ever cleaned.  I spent a week scrubbing roach crap out of cabinets and off of walls.  At the time, I admit, I was pissed.  I was angry at the people who left the mess in the first place, but I was also mad at the owner and the manager who said that they had had the place cleaned but obviously lied.  The manager had already told us that he could rent the place as is to someone else with no problem.  That gives you an idea of the way he runs the place.  So, yeah, I was mad at him, but I was also mad at the world for its lack of forgiveness.

The reason we are here instead of someplace nicer is because I have a violent felony.  No one wanted to rent to us because of my past.  We even talked to a guy who specializes in finding apartment to felons and he told us to give up and try and find a house.

Do you remember that scene in the Green Mile where they have just executed an inmate and one guard is messing with the body but is stopped by another who says, “He’s paid what he owed, he’s square with the house again?”  Well that’s just in the movies.  There is no square with the house again.  There are laws that will not allow me to have certain jobs or live in certain places.  I did my time, but I will always be a second class citizen.

Now I’m not meaning to whine, this is just what was going through my head as I was scrubbing roach crap out of corners. I love this place. The house is almost a hundred years old, that’s ancient by American standards.  The neighborhood is old, I’m sorry, it’s “historic!”  There aren’t alot of chain stores, everything is privately owned.  We are only a mile or so from downtown, so it’s definitely urban, which I like.  I love sitting on the front porch and seeing downtown all lit up.

I love it because I feel like I am right in the middle of it.  We aren’t in suburbia, cut off from the messiness of life.  No, we are right here in the roach crap of it all.   Now that I’m here I can’t wait to see what God has in mind for me.

Tell Me What You Think

